members do not see advertisements

Football Fan Research 2

By jhiemsc in

Blackpool FC

3 weeks ago
RE: Football Fan Research 2
By jhiemsc 3 weeks ago

‍Hi, I am still looking for more participants for my study regarding football fans. I've spoken to a lot of fans in the last few months and have further interviews to schedule, which has been great, but I would still like to speak to more. If you would be interested, some information is below and please feel free to contact me to discuss further. Cheers, John. 

I am a PhD student at Loughborough University with a focus on football and its relationships with its fans and communities. My current area of study is looking into how acts of corruption within football can impact upon the relationships within a club’s fan base.

As a football fan myself I have been aware of the situation the fans of Blackpool are currently confronted with and the difficulty in gaining a speedy resolution. Blackpool are a unique case in the sense of the level of fan activism shown, such as NAPM, a step that no other English fan base has taken. I am particularly interested in the views of fans, who have been partaking in the NAPM/NAGM and additional protests, on the current ownership, governing body assistance, fan relationships and future direction of the club. I believe this is an important, and so far, neglected area of study that deserves further in-depth investigation given the popularity of football and the important, intense relationships that can form between fans and their clubs.